Sprue Cutters Union: May

And…….we’re back.  After being off for a while, John changed the format up a bit and gives us topic monthly.  This month’s question is:

How do you stay in the hobby when you’re away from the bench?

I’ve been away from the bench for a while.  My latest model, a P-40F, has been been finished…all I need is a base for it.  But life has gotten in the way, and I haven’t been able to finish up the base.  The model just sits there, mocking me.  I’ll get to it, soon enough.

So, how do I stay in the hobby…On a nightly basis, I visit the forums at FineScale Modeler, both to keep up to date on the modeling world, and keep track of the group builds that I’m (loosely) participating in.

When I’m not perusing the forums, I’m reading and researching current and future projects.  In this case, I’ve been doing some in depth research on the 315th Fighter Squadron of the US Army Air Force.  This inspiration came from the P-40 that I just finished.  The next project is going to be a Mosquito, and I’m researching Mosquitos of the RAF #487 Squadron.

History and models have a symbiotic relationship for me.  Models help make the history come alive.  Yet, I love to research some of the subjects that I model.

Here’s what some of the other Sprue Cutters have said:

 

This entry was posted in Sprue Cutters Union. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sprue Cutters Union: May

  1. Shayne says:

    Enjoyed the read and it seems we are all interested in what others do to inspire ourselves.

Leave a Reply

