Sprue Cutter’s Union #25 – Time Management

This week’s topic in the Sprue Cutter’s Union is time management.  How do I find or make time to model.

Quite a while ago, I painted Games Workshop Lord of the Rings tabletop figures.  For me, it was a great way to expand my love of Middle Earth and get into a new hobby.  I played the game, and painted figures for quite some time.  Then, most of my friends who played the game slowly moved away or stopped playing.  I found, though, that painting the figures after the kids (who were little at the time) had gone to bed and my wife was at work, was a great way to relax.  I could paint, listen to music, and unwind before bed.

Then, life got in the way.  The kids are growing up, which means many more activities; some that I share with them, and some that I chauffeur.  I put away the Lord of the Rings figures.  Many I sold on eBay.  I sold off most of the Citadel paints, and most of the tools.

Fast forward to almost three years ago.  I was looking for something to do, to unwind before bed.  I remembered that I built models almost 30 years ago, and I liked painting the miniature figures – so I looked at the hobby again.  And BAM, I was back.  So where do I find the time?

I generally have to make time.  The general plan is to try and get to the bench for a little every night.  Invariably, I’ll come home from work, make dinner, walk the dog, make lunches, do some chores, hang out with the kids.  Then it is to the bench.  That’s if I’m lucky.  Unfortunately, life has other ideas.  I block out the time, but I don’t always get there.  And I don’t want to model because I HAVE to, but because I WANT to.

This seems to work out pretty well, though I seem to take way longer to finish a build then I would like – and certainly longer than I’m capable of finishing.  And it plays havoc with group builds that I’m in.

Fortunately, I don’t have a stash.

Here are other Sprue Cutters’ thoughts:

This entry was posted in Sprue Cutters Union. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

